Press Room

<< Return

Aviation Board Elects New Officers - 8/18/2010 -

 View Document

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – August 19, 2010, New Orleans – Yesterday, at its regular meeting, the New Orleans Aviation Board elected new officers.

Nolan V. Rollins, President and CEO of the Urban League of Greater New Orleans, was elected Chairman Mr. Rollins was appointed to the Aviation Board in December 2008. Rollins holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Public Administration from Virginia State University and was honored with the Community Service Award and the Outstanding Public Administrators Award. He earned his Master of Arts degree in Legal Ethics and Historical Studies from the University of Baltimore, and received his Juris Doctor degree from Florida Coastal School of Law. Rollins recently served as co-chair of the NOPD Task Force. "As the Chairman of the New Orleans Aviation Board it is my responsibility to develop an airport that Louisiana can be proud of and that the world enjoys visiting because of the unique experience that we will provide,” stated Chairman Rollins. Rollins takes over the Chairmanship from Dan Packer. Packer, former CEO of Entergy New Orleans served as the Chairman since July 2002. "It was a pleasure to lead the Aviation Board over the past 8 years and the great staff we have while overseeing the rebuilding of the Airport and the level of air service this community enjoys,” stated outgoing Chairman Packer
Doug Thornton, Senior Vice President for SMG who oversees the Louisiana Superdome and New Orleans Arena, was elected Vice-Chairman. Mr. Thornton was appointed to the Board in June 2010 and has played a key role in the development of the local sports and entertainment landscape. Thornton has been a leader in producing several high profile events including, two NFL Super Bowls, both the Men’s and Women’s NCAA Final Four, two BCS Championship football games, the Essence Music Festival, the annual Sugar Bowl Classic and many more. He is active in many community and industry organizations. Thornton recently served as the co-chair of the Landrieu Transition Team. Thornton takes over the Vice-Chairmanship from Kenner Representative, Dave Campbell who served as Vice Chairman since October 2008. Members of the Aviation Board are appointed to five (5) year terms and officers are elected annually by their peers.


© Copyright 2018, Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport. All rights reserved.